skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Office of the Provost

East Tennessee State University

Teaching Award

Dr. Kathryn Sharp

Kathryn SharpDr. Kathryn Sharp is the recipient of the 2018 Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching. Sharp is an associate professor in the Department of Early Childhood Education in the Clemmer College.

“I had the opportunity to participate in many of Dr. Sharp’s early childhood education courses,” writes a graduate of the Clemmer College. “The expectations that Dr. Sharp had for me as a student molded me to become the teacher I am today. Not only was her instruction impactful and meaningful during my undergraduate studies and residency, but also in my professional teaching to date.”

A colleague and former student described Sharp as “the embodiment of everything an effective, supportive teacher should be,” adding that “it is obvious that student learning and success are the very heart and soul of Dr. Sharp’s work, and she commits herself completely to her students to help them achieve their goals.”

Sharp holds both B.S. and Ed.D. degrees in curriculum and instruction from the University of Memphis and a master’s degree, also in curriculum and instruction, from Union University. She came to ETSU in 2009 after serving five years as a faculty member at the University of Memphis and six years as a kindergarten and second grade teacher for Memphis City Schools.

Since joining the ETSU faculty, her work has been published in journals such as The International Journal of the Whole Child, American Reading Forum Yearbook, and the Association for Constructivist Teacher Newsletter in addition to the Praxis II exam: Early childhood specialty exam series by the Educational Testing Service.

In support of Sharp’s nomination for the award, a faculty member in the Clemmer College wrote, “I know Dr. Sharp spends countless hours individually with her students, coaching them toward success in her class and in their program of study. She does not back down from her high standards, but will do whatever it takes to help them achieve these standards.”

In 2017, Sharp was named as a Distinguished Honorary Member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.  She is also a member of the Southern Early Childhood Association, International Reading Association, Phi Delta Kappa, Association for Teacher Educators and the Association for Childhood Educators International.

[From ETSU News Release, 24 August 2018]

icon for left menu icon for right menu