Graduate Council – Minutes

East Tennessee State University

March 30, 2009

Biological Sciences Conference Room, Brown Hall 131


Present: Dr. Judith A. Anderson, Ms. Amy Arnold, Ms. Queen Brown, Dr. Stacy D. Brown,

Dr. Scott W. Champney, Dr. Wallace E. Dixon, Dr. F. Wayne Gillespie, Dr. Helene K. Halvorson,

Dr. Donald B. Hoover, Dr. Cecilia A. McIntosh, Dr. Martha M. Pointer, Dr. Marie Tedesco,

Dr. Paul Trogen, Dr. Ester Verhovsek, Dr. Jon Webb

Absent: Dr. Jeffrey Beck (excused), Ms. Maria D. Costa, Dr. William Duncan (excused),

Ms. LaDonna Hutchins, Ms. Jessica King, Ms. Billie Lancaster (excused), Ms. Mary Ellen Musick,

Ms. Jenny Reed, Dr. Jasmine Renner, Dr. Phillip R. Scheuerman,


Approval of February minutes - The minutes were approved with no corrections.


Curriculum Subcommittee report and recommendations – Dr. Martha Pointer


No report


Graduate Faculty Subcommittee report and recommendations – Dr. Marie Tedesco


No report


Old Business:

1. Dr. Champney stated the old business consisted of the revised guidelines for graduate faculty appointments and turned this over to Dr. Don Hoover and Dr. Marie Tedesco to present to the council. First, Dr. Tedesco denoted the idea of the task force was to clarify some of the language in the old guidelines, to clarify the criterion, and to clarify the levels of membership. In addition, Dr. Hoover explained some of the issues related to evaluation critiques and the consequences of the evaluations. The task force benchmarked against several other institutions and discussed this information in the context of ETSU. The task force sought to eliminate some of the confusion between associate and full levels and to clarify different categories. Dr. McIntosh stated if the guidelines were approved, then the next step is sending these to the Academic Council for approval and if approved, then subsequent applications for appointment or renewal would be evaluated under the new guidelines. The council discussed the proposed changes with regard to the desire for better communication of expectations and requirements for the different levels. The introductory part of the document was also discussed including the opening line of the Guidelines for Graduate Faculty appointment make a good statement and convey the definition “…a commitment to excellence in graduate education and professional productivity”. The Task Force recommended removal of the words “competence” and “promise” which may have created confusion when using the existing form. The council discussed the idea of faculty moving between categories upon renewal and how this is communicated in the proposed document. There was intensive discussion regarding the names of the different categories with the desire to move from current names that have been confusing yet still have category names that are descriptive. A motion was made and seconded to discuss using numbered categories. Dr. Halvorson, Dr. Brown, Dr. Dixon, and Dr. Webb voted for this change with others council members voting against. A motion was made and seconded to use the category names of “Temporary Member”, “Affiliate Member”, “Member” and “Senior Member” and this motion was passed. Dr. Dixon made a motion to approve the revised guidelines and form. Dr. Halvorson seconded the motion. The vote was carried. Dr. Champney suggested a letter or email should be sent to departments regarding the new guidelines after Academic Council has approved. The council voted to send the proposal to the Academic Council.

2. Dr. Dixon inquired what the status of the IRB member situation. Dr. McIntosh advised the IRB head is looking up the history and documentation. This is to verify in what capacity Dr. Beck and Dr. McIntosh served when members of the IRB. Dr. McIntosh will report when she receives the information.

New Business:

1. Dr. Gillespie announced the status of the awards nominations and process (Outstanding Thesis, Dissertation and Capstone Project Awards, Outstanding Teaching Awards, and the new Service Awards). He reported that the awards committees were meeting later in the week to make selections. The council will receive a report on awardees at the next meeting.

2. Dr. Gillespie reported that the awards program will be held on May 1, 2009 at the D. P. Culp Center auditorium beginning at 10:00 am with refreshments immediately following. Council members are encouraged to attend. Dr. McIntosh informed the council that the 2008 awards program was held at the Millennium Center. However, as a result of budget constraints, this year’s ceremony will be held on campus.


There was no further council business to conduct, therefore, the meeting was adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

The next Graduate Council meeting will be April 27 at the President’s Conference room.