A Proposal for Change in University Council membership for Department Chair Representation

Submitted by: Council of Academic Chairs Executive Committee

The Council of Academic Chairs (CAC) is currently represented on University Council by four department chairs (two from Academic Affairs and two from ETSU health). These individuals are selected at large by the CAC. There is currently no requirement that any of the CAC representatives be a member of the CAC Executive Committee.

We propose that the Chair of the CAC be designated as having an "Indefinite" term on University Council and the remaining three chair representatives be selected at large by the CAC. Making this designation will ensure CAC leadership has direct involvement with University Council and will help maintain a direct line of communication between University Council, the CAC Executive Committee, and the CAC.