skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

Department of Social Work

College of Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences

Click on the following links for more information

Davis Murphy Scholarship

Application deadline: March 15th 

Barbara Murphy Brooks, in honor of her parents, Rush W. and Celma Davis Murphy, has generously set up a fund for the ETSU Department of Social Work to award four annual scholarships to BSW students (two awards on campus, two awards off campus)

Scholarship Amount: $2,000 award, over two semesters; four awards in total (2 awards on campus, 2 awards off campus)

Eligibility Requirements:

  1. BSW Student
  2. In-state Preference
  3. Financial Need
  4. GPA of 2.5 or more

The application form for the Davis Murphy Scholarship is available for download here.

The application is also available as a digital form here.

Applications should be completed and emailed or turned in in-person to Dawn Marie Tipton at  by March 15th. 

Applications include a short essay that addresses the following topics:

  • Human service experience to date and what you learned from those experiences.
  • Your long-term and short-term goals following graduation with your BSW degree.
  • Any financial need information that you feel would be helpful for us to consider when we review your application.
Jim Wahlberg Dean's Scholarship

Application deadline: December 1st

Dr. Patty Gibbs-Wahlberg, a former BSW Program Director at ETSU, in cooperation with the Association of Baccalaureate Social Work Program Directors (BPD), established a student scholar award in honor of her late husband, Dr. Jim Wahlberg, the former MSW Program Director at ETSU who gave longstanding service to and leadership in social work and social work education at local, regional, and national levels before his untimely death in 1999.

The award includes round trip airfare to the BPD annual spring conference so the recipient can present his or her essay on Social Justice, Equality, and Empowerment. The award recipient also receives a one night hotel stay at the conference, a $250 honorarium, and recognition with a plaque at the Annual Recognition Luncheon held during the conference.

In addition to the scholar award to present the essay, the recipient is eligible for a full scholarship to pursue the master's degree in social work at the University of Michigan School of Social Work. To be chosen for this award is a prestigious honor, as well as an opportunity for full funding to pursue an MSW degree. Additional information and applications are available on the BPD website. To navigate to the information select the "About" section, then "Awards" (located on the left navigational menu).

Ellyn Lancaster Scholarship

Application Deadline: February 15th

This scholarship was established in 2013 to assist non-traditional aged "women in transition" to pursue a Bachelors of Social Work (BSW) or a Masters of Social Work (MSW)

Scholarship Amount: $2,400 one-time award for one year

Eligibility Requirements:

1. Residency Requirement: Washington County, Greene County, or Sullivan County
2. Education Requirement: Returning adult student: high school graduate, GED recipient, or current college student
3. Field of Study: Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) or Masters of Social Work (MSW)
GPA Minimum: Not applicable
4. College/Enrollment Requirement: Full-time enrollment at East Tennessee State University pursuing a Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) or Masters of Social Work (MSW) degree.
5. Must demonstrate financial need

Application and more information: Through East Tennessee Foundation at

Patty Gibbs-Wahlberg Scholarship

Application Deadline: May 31st 

Patty Gibbs-Wahlberg Scholarship recognizes student scholarship, service and leadership. Awards of $3,000, $2,000, and $1,000 are presented each year. The first place winner receives an all-expenses-paid trip to present her or his work during the Student Session of the Association of Baccalaureate Program Directors conference held each Spring.

Scholarship Amount: Awards of $3,000, $2,000, and $1,000 are presented each year.


  1. Scholarship
  2. Leadership
  3. Service
  4. Career Plans
  5. Must be a Phi Alpha member to apply

This scholarship is sponsored by Phi Alpha National Honor Society; more information regarding the scholarship and application process can be found on their website.

Barbara G. Kirkpatrick Scholarship

Application Deadline: February 15th

Established to assist single parent students pursuing a degree at East Tennessee State University.

Scholarship Amount: $2,400 award, over two semesters

Eligibility Requirements:

  1. Resident of "25 county service area" per East Tennessee Foundation or Bristol, TN/VA
  2. GPA of 2.5 or more
  3. Full-time enrollment
  4. Financial Need
  5. Single Parent
  6. U.S. Citizen

Application and more information: Through East Tennessee Foundation at 

ETSU Scholarship Office

Click here to visit the ETSU Scholarship Office.

Virginia Child Welfare Stipend Program for BSW Students

The Child Welfare Stipend Program (CWSP) is a partnership between the Virginia Department of Social Services and five public state universities in Virginia, including the ETSU Abingdon Cohort.

This specialized training program, funded through title IV-E of the Social Security Act, prepares BSW students for a career in public child welfare.

Students accepted into this program receive a $10,000 stipend per academic year. In exchange for the stipend and extensive child welfare training, the stipend recipient must commit to work at a Local Department of Social Services (LDSS) within the state of Virginia in foster care or adoption, repaying each academic year of funding with one calendar year of work. This employment obligation must begin within six (6) months of graduation.

Click here for more information or contact Dr. Duncan-Daston at

icon for left menu icon for right menu