skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Faculty Senate

East Tennessee State University

Faculty Senate


2019-2020 Faculty Senate Meeting

Full Senate meetings are 2:45-4:30pm.  Faculty Senate Executive Committee meets 2:45-4:30pm on the Mondays in which the Full Senate does not meet.  Executive Committee meets in CCB 235.

If you wish to place an item on the agenda for a meeting of the full Senate, please present it to a member of the Executive Committee. In its next meeting the EC will consider the item for a future agenda. If you have a motion, please complete the Motion Submission form.

Officers for the 2019-2020 year

President: Stephen Hendrix (as of spring 2020)
VP: Jeff Gray (as of spring 2020)
Secretary: Eric Sellers
Treasurer: Nate Olson
Chief Operating Officer: Patrick Brown
Past President: Susan Epps

Mission of the Faculty Senate 

1.1 To fulfill its mission effectively, the University needs a mechanism for meaningful and continuing cooperation between the faculty and administrative officers of the institution in shared governance. In order to foster mutual trust and respect and to produce cooperative efforts that enhance the stature of the university and its programs, formal and systematic lines of communication are needed to ensure full discussion of important matters and adequate reaction from one constituency to another.

1.2. Final authority for implementing the policies of the institution resides with the University president. It is a basic premise of this document that the faculty has the right and obligation to participate fully and actively in the determination of those policies that pertain to academic matters and faculty welfare. The Faculty Senate herein constituted provides, therefore, for meaningful and formal participation by the faculty in matters of University governance that are related to its right and proper concerns.

~from the Preamble to the Constitution of the Faculty Senate


icon for left menu icon for right menu